John Tedstrom, Founder & CEO of NextGen Leaders, has held senior positions in government, civil society and the private sector, integrating issues of national security, economics, and social justice. Prior to founding NextGen Leaders, John formed the advisory firm Tedstrom Associates, which advises businesses, government agencies and philanthropic foundations on LGBTQ equality and related matters.  For seven years, Tedstrom Associates was the “firm of record” for The Coca-Cola Company on LGBTQ issues.  Other clients included iconic brands such as the National Basketball Association and U.S. State Department.  John served in the White House where he advised President Clinton on Russia, Ukraine and the Newly Independent States. Following his government service, he founded and led major international organizations fighting HIV/AIDS and other global health challenges. Earlier in his career, Dr. Tedstrom directed research and taught economics and national security policy at RAND and Columbia University’s School for International and Public Affairs.

Dr. Tedstrom is director and chair emeritus of the LGBTQ Victory Institute board of directors.  He also serves on the boards of Equality California and the Global Business Coalition for Education. He has lived in Munich, Moscow, and Kyiv, and earned a Ph.D. in international economics and Russian studies from the University of Birmingham, England. He is the author of scores of academic articles; his book, Socialism, Perestroika and the Dilemmas of Soviet Economic Reform, was published in 1990. He is a Chopra Center Certified meditation instructor.


Our Advisory Board

In addition to our Core Faculty, NextGen Leaders benefits extensively from a diverse group of committed and engaged leaders who serve on our Advisory Board. Dr. Andrea Cubitt, a successful entrepreneur in the life sciences/biotech space and a leading “paradigm shifter” in the Transgender community, chairs the Advisory Board and plays a key role in NextGen’s work in service of the Transgender and Gender Non-Conforming communities.

Michael Bloch – SVP, Business Support | Bank of America
Alan Brewer – Head of Instructional Design and Professional Development | Blackrock
Michel Buffet – Senior Client Partner | Korn Ferry
Stuart Burden – Vice President, CSR | Silicon Valley Foundation
Andrea Cubitt – Vice President, External Alliances & Intellectual Property | aTyr Pharma
Ed Harnaga – Vice President, Public Affairs | Pfizer
Scarlett Moss – Vice President, Public Relations and Government Affairs | Swire Coca-Cola
Todd Gloria – Assembly Member, Majority Whip | California State Assembly
Georgette Gomez – President | San Diego City Council
Justine Gonzalez – Vice Chair, Human Rights Commission | City of Los Angeles (2017 Alum)
Brad Hankins – Co-Founder | Scouts for Equality
Sally Jesmonth – Program Manager | Google (2017 Alum)
Matt Kidd – Executive Director, Emeritus | Reaching Out MBA
Ricardo Lara – Commissioner | California Insurance Commission
Evan Low – Assemblymember; Chair, Business and Professions Committee, Chair Emeritus, LGBTQ Caucus | California State Assembly
Stephen Macias – Senior Vice President | MWW Public Relations
Ken McNeely – President | AT&T Western Region
Lisa Middleton – Councilwoman | Palm Springs, CA, City Council
Erin Passons – President | Passons Consulting
Lisa Pearl – President | Lisa Pearl Leadership Strategies
Greg Propper – Founder & CEO | PropperDaley
Joyce Rowland – Sr. Vice President, Chief Human Resource Officer | Sempra Energy
JD Schramm – Lecturer, Executive Communications | Stanford University, Graduate School of Business
Pamela Stewart – Vice President, National Retail Sales | The Coca-Cola Company
Mattheus Stephens – Attorney/Lecturer | Progressive Law Group/University of California San Diego
Mike Thompson – Vice President, Marketing | Gartner, Inc
Matthew Vasilakis – Adjunct Professor | San Diego City College
Moe Vela – President & CEO | The Vela Group